Kaseya Community

KES detects threats, but all result in CLEAN FAILED?

• I'm a newbie to VSA/KES as of this week, so bear with my beginner questions Smile

Using latest version of VSA/KES, a client's machine shows 15 threats. But it seems as though KES/AVG is not fixing the problem, as the View Threats screen shows CLEAN FAILED under the Action/Status column... What would be the next logical step to clean these infections?

I am surprised that the Threat Name doesn't get displayed as a hyperlink to a database of virus/spyware information - like many security products do. The database might have specific instructions on how to manually remove the threat, payload etc....

Another oddity is that when I looked at View Logs, I saw FULL SCANs listed several times every day over the last week or two. Yet I never scheduled any full scans in KES. Tech support confirmed this was a bug that was fixed as of 3/17. Indeed, no more Full Scans have occurred after the morning of 3/18, so that's good. My first client was annoyed that the Full Scans were running every morning and bringing his machines to a crawl. My own workstation did it every am too. I'm glad they fixed that bug Smile

Back to - what do I do next to clean this machine? Support didn't offer much advice other than I could select the machine and choose an action at the top of the View Threats screen (e.g. Restore As-Is, Attempt to Clean & Restore etc.). But if the unsolicited Full Scan reported CLEAN FAILED, what good will it do to choose one of these actions?

I hope KES is more sophisticated than it looks? Hopefully it's my lack of understanding as a newbie...

Thanks!

Legacy Forum Name: KES detects threats, but all result in CLEAN FAILED?,
    Legacy Posted By Username: ReedMikel
  • we are having same problem -- talked to tech support over a week ago, they were going to call me back, but never did.

Legacy Forum Name: KES,
    Legacy Posted By Username: gcappas