Kaseya Community

Am I misunderstanding how flap prevention works?

This question is answered

I'm fairly new to Traverse, and I'm tuning it to minimise false alarms. It's going well except that I fear I'm not really grokking how flap prevention works.

If an event (say, SQL Server Key Lock Requests) cycle length is set to 5 minutes, and I've set flap prevention to 10 cycles, I would assume that Key Lock Requests must exceed it's threshold consistently for 50 minutes before I'd get an email.

This doesn't appear to be the case. It might fire for 15 minutes total, and I get an email. This is true of a bunch of other events also.

What am I missing?

Sorry if this is a newb question. The docs seem to imply my understanding is correct, so I can't see why it's not functioning as it should.

Verified Answer
  • Well, in order for Traverse to send an email you need to create an Action Profile and assign it to the test. But you can create many different Action Profiles and assign different ones to different tests, so I'm not sure I understand your comment about having one global setting for all types of alerts. Can you elaborate?

What I was trying to explain that the flap prevention setting has no impact on the Action profiles (this is why the Action profiles have a separate option to select after how many failures you want the action to fire).

• Hi Greig,

As Krisztian correctly indicated, the flap prevention setting affects the visibility of an event, either within the summary views or event console. Lets assume you have set flap prevention to 1, which can be accomplished globally, per-device or per-test basis. When a DGE/DGEx determines that a particular test has gone from OK to critical state, it will place it in a "transient" state instead for one additional polling cycle. If the status is still determined to be critical, then it will be shown as such on the UI.