Kaseya Community

Filtering Patches by Product

This question is not answered

I'm fairly new to Kaseya and I recently put Kaseya on a few of our servers which means it's time for patch management.  My problem is filtering the available updates in a way that I can actually pick out what I need.  For instance KB  2973112  is Security Update for Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5.1 on Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 for x64-based Systems (KB2973112).  The listed product in Kaseya is Windows 7 but as the article and the title show it also applies to Server 2008.  I'm looking for a way to filter the results so I don't have to scroll through a bunch of non applicable updates.  I tried filtering by title for "Server 2008" or just server and it doesn't list any updates.  Filtering by product doesn't work since they're all tagged as Windows 7 in the product list instead of having both Windows 7 and Server 2008. 

All Replies
  • Hey Trevor - Welcome to VSA!

Many MSPs put way too much effort into patching to justify the results that they get. We regularly audit a VSA platform and find many systems aren't fully patched or have issues when patching.

Windows is smart enough to not apply workstation updates to servers and vice-versa, so don't waste time trying to approve only server or workstation patches.  Our Core Automation suite provides 12 pre-built patch policies. We use 5 of these in our MSP practice - the others are so we can handle special situations if/when they arise. The core concept is layered policies - what do you want to block from EVERY agent, from every workstation, and from every server - this combination of two policies suits 90% of the customers. We then have policies that we add that block things like DotNET or IE upgrades that often break customer apps. We apply these to customers that need them.

My blog has a recent article on Effective VSA Patching - www.mspbuilder.com/.../effective-patching