Kaseya Community

Patch Management is Daunting

•    OK. I am new to Kaseya but have been in the network arena since 1980. This patch management has to be the most confusing, dis-organized thing I have ever seen. Helter-Skelter. I played with it for a whole day yesterday and got nowhere. All I want to do is patch critical updates on the server and all workstations every Sunday. That doesn't sound like too difficult a task but wow. Can someone shoot me some documentation or something that might make this patch management a little easier to understand?

Thanks!

• Ziggy32,

I recommend you check Kaseya University.  The is a free tutorial on major modules, as well as links to various resources.  Create a free account at university.kaseya.com.  (In-depth training is available for purchase through your account manager.)

To get going with what you're trying to do, there are a few basic steps (this is very high-level, but should point  you in the right direction):

1.  Run patch scans (Patch > Scan Machine) on your agents.  This will allow Kaseya to learn which patches are appropriate for which machines.  You cannot install patches without this step.  

2.  Create a Patch Policy (Patch > Create/Delete)

3.  Assign the Patch Policy to agents (Patch > Membership)

4.  Define the settings for your Patch Policy (Patch > Approval by Policy)

-Configure the Default Approval Status based on the classification

-Manually approve or deny patches that are already known to your VSA (Default Approval Status applies only to patches that are newly discovered, not to patches already known to the VSA)

5.  Configure Automatic Update (Patch > Auto Update) to run on Sunday

6.  Configure Patch > Windows Auto Update to "Disabled" (otherwise the local Windows Update utility may run and install other patches)

7.  Optionally configure the Reboot Action (Patch > Reboot Action) to your preferred behavior