Kaseya Community

Simplest way to auto-approve Security Updates ?

• Hi,
    I'm just beginning to experiment with Kaseya's PM module.

What would be the easiest way to use PM to *automatically* approve every patch that has a Classification of Security Update(all levels)? I recall this being rather simple and effective with WSUS, and would like to have the same capability in Kaseya.

My initial thought was to:
    a) Create/Delete: create a policy named Security Updates

b) Approval by Policy: set view to Classification, then Set default status to Approved for each of the 5 categories of Security Updates (e.g. Critical, Important, Moderate, Low and Non-rated).

c) Membership: assign my new Security Updates policy to all Windows machines

Is there any downside to this approach?

One concern I had was that PM would attempt to apply inappropriate Security patches (e.g. a Windows XP machine would not need a Windows Server 2003 patch). Does Kaseya's PM have enough smarts to not attempt inappropriate patches based on operating system?

I also am concerned that a machine might download inappropriate/unneeded patches - which would waste KServer, LAN & disk resources.

Lastly, how does PM deal with superseded patches? e.g if a machine has Win XP SP3, will PM be smart enough to ignore all patches noted with "Superseded By: KB936929 Windows XP Service Pack 3 (KB936929)"

I guess my last 3 questions are really asking if Kaseya PM has the smarts - or do I have to define everything?

TIA,
    -Mike

Legacy Forum Name: Simplest way to auto-approve Security Updates ?,
    Legacy Posted By Username: ReedMikel
  • First problem, if an agent is a member of multiple policies, the most restrictive will apply. So you can approve these, however anywhere else where they arent approved, they will not apply.

Kaseya DOES have the smarts to differentiate by OS.

I believe only the required patches are downloaded to the file source and then installed from there.