Kaseya Community

Windows Security Log: failed login - alert?

This question is answered

Hi, Im new to Kaseya and I'm a cofounder in a startup. Forgive me if we post or ask questions that have already been answered. I didnt see anything posted about this in the last 2 years so I thought I would ask.

We have this client were trying to convince to let us manage their network but so far they want to stay on T&M. Anyway they are having an issue because their previous IT guy setup a port forward rdp. They are getting hit by tons of failed logons. Until I can get them on another remote solution is there any way to setup an alert to hit on failed logons? Thanks in advance

Verified Answer
  • Yes, you'll use Monitor --> Event Log Alerts -->  Setup an Security Log alert for the following events -- Just use the event IDs and asterisks for the other filter columns:   The event set will look like this:

* * 4625 * *

* * 4740 * *

Added tags, added suggested answer
    [edited by: Chris - Benevolent NOC Overlord at 5:57 AM (GMT -7) on Apr 23, 2018]
  • Hey DJ,

I have created that event set i am allready using that and it working fine.I have aatched that event set file with this post you need to import it in your kaseya apply on machines.

All Replies
  • Yes, you'll use Monitor --> Event Log Alerts -->  Setup an Security Log alert for the following events -- Just use the event IDs and asterisks for the other filter columns:   The event set will look like this:

* * 4625 * *

* * 4740 * *

Added tags, added suggested answer
    [edited by: Chris - Benevolent NOC Overlord at 5:57 AM (GMT -7) on Apr 23, 2018]
  • Hey DJ,

I have created that event set i am allready using that and it working fine.I have aatched that event set file with this post you need to import it in your kaseya apply on machines.