Kaseya Community

Monitor - Alert only if Run Script fails

• Hi, I'm relatively new to Kaseya, we're using it to monitor processes on Linux hosts. I have a monitor for a certain daemon that should be running. If not, Kaseya throws an alert. I’m testing the idea of a scripted remediation when the monitor detects a problem. I have that working, but I’m wondering if there’s a way to have the monitor try the remediation script action first, then if that fails, escalate it to an alert?

Basically, what I'm trying to do is:

1. daemon 'foo' should be running

2. daemon 'foo' crashes

3. Kaseya monitor notices that 'foo' is not running

4. Kaseya agent procedure 'recover foo' is run

5. If daemon 'foo' is now running, go back to monitoring.

6. If daemon 'foo' is not running, create alarm, send email, wake up the helpdesk, etc.

• Our service desk handles this exact thing..

1. we monitor something..

2. An alert arrives at service desk, where it is parsed and a remediation task is potentially identified.

3. The remediation procedure is invoked on the agent

4a. If the remediation is successful, the service desk ticket is closed and a "Complete" status ticket is optionally sent to the PSA.

4b. If the remediation fails, a "New" status ticket is sent to the PSA.

We also developed what we call "smart monitors" - applications that monitor a condition, can self-remediate the condition; auto-adjust the threshold based on the environment where the alert is running; and can suppress transient conditions, generating an alert only when the condition persists for a specific period. Kaseya initiates the smart monitor daily, where it runs once or for 24 hours, alerting Kaseya to an issue only when it can't resolve it by itself.