Kaseya Community

Sounding an alert when a system goes down

• Dear all,

I'm really new to kaseya and am looking for a way to sound an alarm when a system goes down. I found the article on stating how to do things (kind of) but have no clue where to set it. They refer to the scripts tab but I can't locate it. Anyone who can give me an example for dummies? Thanks!

This is the option I'm trying to get in place: http://community.kaseya.com/xsp/f/27/t/7177.aspx Just that I need the thing to sound the alarm when a system goes down (the guys on the support desk seem to miss them once in a while since there's only a visual reminder).

Best regards,

Louis

• Hi Louis

The article you refer to is a little misleading.  This will play a sound if there is a problem but it will play it on the machine that has the problem.  Could get very noisy on a machine suffering from a lot of errors.  Where the scripts tab is mentioned this has now been renamed Procedures and I guess you could setup something similar to what's been mentioned before.

What we do is we use some reporting to list the machines that aren't checking in (really only worried about servers) if the machine appears on our dashboard then someone has to find out what the problem is.  You only need an old PC connected to your VSA to use as the display.  I'm being very generic here as there are loads of ways this could be created.  I'm sure others will chip in with advice.

• Hi Alistair,

thanks for the advice. We actually do have a PC with a big screen on the servicedesk that shows the alerts on the dashboard. But on few occasions they just missed the visuals due to other work. Result an angry customer who wants to now why he found out the system was down before we did. So it would be really handy if the guys would be warned with some kind of audible alert.