Kaseya Community

Do to use a wild card in Get File

• Hi all,

I'm new to Kaseya and have the G1 Version.

We have files on our Agents in the format YYYYMMDD.ZIP that get created daily. I've created a Get File script that will get a single file name but that's not want I want. I want to get the files daily as they are created.

Specifying a Get File name like 2010*.ZIP produces errors.

Is there a way of doing this and if so any help would be appreciated.

TIA

Greg

Legacy Forum Name: Do to use a wild card in Get File,
    Legacy Posted By Username: ghines
  • You'll need to rename the newest file before using Get File. For example:

1. Delete/archive example.zip (skip if fail)
    2. Execute Shell Command
    forfiles -d+0 -m*.zip -c"CMD /C rename @FILE example.zip"

3. Get example.zip

Legacy Forum Name: Scripts Forum,
    Legacy Posted By Username: SMason
  • SMason
    You'll need to rename the newest file before using Get File. For example:

1. Delete/archive example.zip (skip if fail)
    2. Execute Shell Command
    forfiles -d+0 -m*.zip -c"CMD /C rename @FILE example.zip"

3. Get example.zip

And someone called me a command line guru... I've been trying to figure that one out for a while lol...

Nicely done SMason!

Legacy Posted By Username: thirteentwenty
  • Forfiles is case-sensitive with all of it's switches. Also, I don't think it likes spaces between the switches and parameters. In other words, it is very picky.

Legacy Posted By Username: SMason
  • Alternatively, run the following on your KServer:

USE [ksubscribers]
    GO
    SET ANSI_NULLS ON
    GO
    SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON
    GO
    CREATE VIEW [dbo].[v_Intech_CurrentDate] AS SELECT 'placeholder' AS Machine_GroupID, convert(varchar, getdate(), 112) AS CurrentDate;

And then change your get file script to reference #v_Intech_CurrentDate.CurrentDate#.ZIP

Legacy Posted By Username: Intech-Jason
  • Hi,

Thanks for both of the suggestions. However I have a couple of comments on both of them.