Kaseya Community

Script Variables

• Hi guys,

I am not sure if this is possible but if I dont ask I wont know.

I have a VBscript that has variables in it like

username, password & domain

is there anyway from within the kaseya script I can specifiy what the username, password & domain is and it then is pass that information to a the VB script?

The only possible way I can think of it having a script for each client with the password & username already specefied which kind of defeats the purpose.

Thanks

Josh

Legacy Forum Name: Script Variables,
    Legacy Posted By Username: Joshua Lehman
  • A few thoughts things... Windows stores the current username and domain as %USERNAME% and %USERDOMAIN%, so it's easy to reference these on a shell command line if you want. Passwords... no such luck.

One approaches that come to mind is to use managed variables (reference the Kaseya help for details). Basically, you can define three managed variables for the user, password and domain name, then save the values of these managed variables on a per client basis (assuming your clients are represented as a unique machinegroup). Then you can use the IMPERSONATE USER function at the top of the script, and pop in the managed variables for the three fields you are trying to use.

As long as you save the variables for the machinegroup, you can run the script against it.

I know this doesn't answer your question directly... but hopefully it'll give you an idea to think about. The bottom line, getting the username and domain is easy... the password is the killer.

Legacy Forum Name: Scripts Forum,
    Legacy Posted By Username: dbennett
  • dbennett
    A few thoughts things... Windows stores the current username and domain as %USERNAME% and %USERDOMAIN%, so it's easy to reference these on a shell command line if you want. Passwords... no such luck.