Kaseya Community

Script to install Latest Adobe Reader

• As do most people we use Adobe Acrobat Reader. most of the computers we manage have numerous different versions of the reader already installed along with the updater that drives them crazy. I understand the latest installs actually remove previous versions (most of them) and thus a script to silently install the reader, deal with the EULA agreement, and common settings, not create a desktop icon.

Is anyone doing this? Any and all help would be appeciated.

I believe the latest version is 9

Does this link help?

http://www.capslockassassin.com/2008/07/06/adobe-acrobat-reader-9-silent-install/

I am very new to scripting and have been able to modify some scripts and am a real newbie...

Legacy Forum Name: Script to install Latest Adobe Reader,
    Legacy Posted By Username: ywtt
  • This is a script I use to great success;

Script Name: Deploy Adobe Reader 9.0
    Script Description: Deploy Adobe Reader 9.0 - This will download the file from the KServer and install it silently. Please note, this file is 34mb in size, so for larger cilents please create a script to download the file to their server and then deploy it to the workstations!

IF True
    THEN
    Get Variable
    Parameter 1 : 4
    Parameter 2 :
    Parameter 3 : agentDrv
    OS Type : 0
    Write File
    Parameter 1 : #agentDrv#temp\AdbeRdr90_en_US.exe
    Parameter 2 : VSASharedFiles\LWX_MS_Installs\AdbeRdr90_en_US.exe
    Execute File
    Parameter 1 : #agentDrv#temp\AdbeRdr90_en_US.exe
    Parameter 2 : /sAll /rs /l /msi"/qb-! /norestart ALLUSERS=1 EULA_ACCEPT=YES SUPPRESS_APP_LAUNCH=YES"
    Parameter 3 : 3
    ELSE

However, this WILL create a desktop icon (though its fairly easy to add a step to delete this) and the first time users run this program they will get a EULA they have to accept - though I believe this is unavoidable.)

You need to download the latest Adobe 9.0 file and upload it to your KServer for this script to work.