Kaseya Community

Reading the most recent text file in a directory

• I am working on using Kaseya to parse my backup software (Servosity 7) text logs to check for errors or warnings automatically. I am very new to Kaseya and I'm not sure how to have it parse a text file if I can't provide the specific file name. It is formatted as date and time as the name, which obviously changes daily, or multiple times a day if I run multiple backups for a client. 

Any ideas on how to get the filename of the most recent file in a folder. It's for MAC clients if that makes a difference. 

I'd also love help finding the directory name, because it's in a folder named for each backup set, which is different per machine, and I'd love to not have to set the directory manually on each machine.

• Disclaimer, 0 experience with Servosity.

To answer your direct question, I would probably write a script to do the parsing and find a way to alert on the output of the script. Potentially in a post-backup command launched from Servosity (if that exists). In Windows, I would have that script write to the Windows Event Logs and create a monitoring set in Kaseya for that. Since we use ConnectWise for ticketing, on a Mac I would probably just have the parsing script generate an e-mail to ConnectWise that creates a ticket. I haven't had a lot of luck with Kaseya's log file monitoring, probably because I haven't put the time in, but you might have better luck using a post-backup script to parse the actual logs and then output much simpler results to a static log file; then use Kaseya's log file monitoring to monitor that static file.

A case that often gets overlooked is what happens when no backup runs. There isn't an error, so potentially no alert, but something is definitely wrong. Make sure your monitoring strategy takes this into account.