Kaseya Community

Deploying .exe to machines to update an application

• Hello,

I am new to using Kaseya and we are trying to update an application on workstations in our domain. What would be the best procedure for performing this task through Kaseya?

Thanks,

Derek

• Derek,

Welcome! I have two suggestions. First is that Kaseya has a software deployment module that uses the ninite system for some general updates. If that does not fit your situation, try building an agent procedure.

Procedure guidelines:

First I would use credentials

Next, copy the file to a destination of your choice (local drive or temp folder)

Next, execute file with correct switches for silent installation

If this update requires a system reboot, I would put that step there.

Hope this helps.

• Hi James!

I don't have the software deployment module.

I was actually playing around with procedures to copy a file to a workstation from a server and that wasn't working.

step 1 was use user logon credentials

step 2 execute command copy \\fileserver\share\*.*  c:\windows\system32\

it would say successful, but the files weren't there.

• I think you are running to a user restriction problem. Are you sure that the end users have access to the windows system32 folder? I do not think standard users dot not have access to write to the windows directory. Also, are you sure each user has access to your \\fileserver?

What we did here is set a specific kaseya user on each of our system with local Admin rights. We then select use credential to use this common account for our procedures.

• i thought using credentials it will use the account you specify under the agent?

• Ok, I'm a little confused are you selecting useCredential or impersonateUser?

useCredential will use what was set in the agent.

impersonateUser will allow you to manually set the user name, password, domain(if any) I have not had much success using this option.

here is a sample procedure we use: