Kaseya Community

Router config backup script query

This question has suggested answer(s)

Hi there,

Firstly, I am very new to Kaseya and to scripting. I'm one month in for both.

I need to create a procedure that will output and save the running config of cisco routers. We have a number of these at client sites. I have created a very simple batch file that uses plink to login to the routers and output the config to a .txt file.

If I run this file on the server it works fine.

If I try to run the batch file using executeshellcommand  I get an empty output file.

If I run plink using executefile and add the Kaseya shows me a failed loading message.

The command line I am using is as follows  - "d:\path\plink.exe ipaddress  -ssh -l user -pw password en sho run > d:\path\output.txt"

Setting up ftp or tftp servers at each site to back up the configs to is not possible.

I realise that I am probably missing lots of lovely problem fixing code, however after a number of hours of testing, I thought it was time to admit defeat and ask for some expert help. If anyone can help it would be really appreciated.

Many thanks.

[edited by: Dcomd at 4:50 PM (GMT -7) on Jun 11, 2013] changed to q
All Replies
  • Hi,

In the command line try using the >> instead of > to output the data.

• Offhand, my first thought would go back to my previous experience with putty and plink.  The first time you connect to an SSH server, it prompts you to accept the private key, and then stores that in your user profile.  Keep in mind that when you run things from a kaseya proceedure it runs as the "System" user by default.    My guess is that it's failing to actually do anything when run as system because it's trying to prompt you to accept the key.  My first suggestion, though I can't really test it from where I am right now, would be to add the -batch argument to the plink command line as that specifically disables all interactive prompts.