Kaseya Community

Running a VBScript from an Agent Procedure within Kaseya

• I have a neat little VBScript that I want to push out across all PCs in my domain through an Agent Procedure.

I see an option to run a VBScript within Agent Procedures:

However, I am not sure how or where this file is going to run.  Do I copy it to the VSASharedFiles folder on the server and then just put "VSASharedFiles\script.vbs" in the full path field?  Incidentally, I have tried that and it doesn't work.  Do I need to somehow push it out to every machine first and then run it locally?

I could do this so easy through a GPO, but I'm really trying to start using Kaseya for as much deployment as I can :-).

Can someone please tell me the best way that I can use an Agent Procedure to run this .vbs file on all of my machines?

Thank you kindly!

• Yes you need to use write file first to write the file to the machines then use the run vbs from the location you copied it too

• So under your Agent Procedures you want to use the Manage File option to upload your Vbscript to your Kaseya server, then in your agent procedure you want to use the write file step to write the vbscript to the kworking folder and then you execute the Vbscript from the machine.

• Thank you for your response!  Is there an environment variable in Kaseya for the working directory that I can use?  Typically most of the machines will have the "c:\kworking" directory, but there are some out there that have different folders names.

I'd like to be able to just signify in the agent procedure that I want the file to write to and run the script from the "Kaseya Working Directory" regardless of what the folder name is on the local machine.

Also, could you give an example of the entire string that I would put in the Agent Procedure?  For example, if my vbscript was called "script.vbs", what exactly would I type in the "Enter the full path and filename of the destination file" field of the agent procedure?

Thanks again!!!