Kaseya Community

"Write text to file" not actually writing text to file.

• I'm somewhat new to Kaseya scripting so this may very well be an error on my part, but I'm trying to create a script using the "write text to file" step and it isn't working.  The "text to write" parameter is set to #global:cmdresults# and the target folder\file is "C:\temp\#vAgentConfiguration.workgroupDomainName#.csv".  There is definitely data in #global:cmdresults# as other steps are able to utilize it, but when I try to get file from the write text step it fails with "file open failed" in the procedure log.  I've watched the destination directory while the script was running, and while other temp files related to the script are created and deleted my target file never even shows up.  

Am I doing something wrong?

• David, it happens when the process doesn't have enough time to execute before the next step in the procedure gets executed, use the option of "Wait for the program to complete before continuing" check box if you have one under your steps or else add the step "Pause this procedure for N seconds to give a previous action time to complete." and put in a 10 second delay.

• Procedure Send list of AD email addresses - dl(2).xml

I added a 10 second delay right after the step that creates the file, it's still not working.  I've attached the procedure in its entirety for reference.

• you are getting the details in your email but the text is not getting written to file?

• I just tested the write text to file function, I can get it to write normal text input but it's failing when I use #global:cmdresults# variable,

I think It would be simpler to just add an additional command to pipe the result to csv file under step 3.

• I actually already tried that, the first version of the script I made piped the results directly to file.  Except once again, no file is written and the results are output to console.  For reference, the command I used is: