Kaseya Community

New to scripting, so where do I start?

• Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

I am new to Kaseya and a complete noob when it comes to scripting. I noticed that people use all types scripts, but I have no clue what to start with.

What scripting language would you recommend for a complete beginner for Kaseya?

Thanks!

• It helps to have a background with batch and VB scripting, but it is not required to get around with Kaseya. I would definitely start with the Kaseya Help file (it's a question mark in the top-left under your logo). From there, the vast majority of us learned by doing and tested what Kaseya is capable of in a lab environment. Another great way to learn is to study scripts written by others. If you come acrossed something specific that doesn't make sense to you, try researching or ask about it here.

Good luck.

• Thank you!

• The main thing that I had to get used to when I started was realising the capabilities of each different "language" and how to communicate between them when you need to use multiple languages in one script.

A few examples of this:

If you're using the command line to achieve something, and then getting the results from that process back into your script. You would either output the shell command to a log file, or use "Execute Shell Command - Get Results to Variable".

If you're writing a VBScript, then it is a good idea to make the script accept parameters, then you can tell it exactly what to do from your Kaseya script by executing a shell command e.g. "cscript myVBScript.vbs param1 param2"

Because you'll use a lot of text files for transferring data between different languages, some basic command line text parsing skills will be useful:

For example, using "Find" to pick out lines containing certain content:

Enter this into a command prompt:   wmic process list brief

Then enter this:   wmic process list brief | find "cmd.exe"