First Script Attempt: Refresh DNS

This question is not answered

My Batch File is the following:

DNS.bat

net stop "Umbrella Roaming Client"
ipconfig /renew
net start "Umbrella Roaming Client"
ipconfig /all

I would like to be able to run this on the machines we have Kaseya installed on.  For an absolute beginner, can you point me to a good resource, or walk me through how to set this up?

So far, I have found 

Agent Procedures -> Installer Wizards -> Application Deploy

and have uploaded my batch file to a shared directory.  

Am I going in the right direction?

Thanks!

-Dave

All Replies
  • This is what I have. No batch file required

added picture
    [edited by: Buster Davis at 5:44 AM (GMT -7) on Aug 8, 2018]
  •  

• Buster, Asmith, what area are you getting these screen caps from?  My VSA shows:

Agent

Agent Procedures

Audit

Desktop Management

Discovery

Info Center

Monitor

Network Monitor

Patch Management

Policy Management

Remote Control

Software Deployment

Software Management

System

vPro

Webroot

forgot 1 poster
    [edited by: davidp at 1:57 PM (GMT -7) on Aug 8, 2018]
  • They are in the Agent Procedures -> Schedule/Create tab.  The "System" folder will be accessible from there.  

• Good start with the bat file. You’ve got it uploaded. Now just tie it into a procedure. Use the “executeshellcommand” to run the bat file in the procedure… that’s about all you need to do based off the information you’ve given me. You may think execute file would do the job (or maybe that was just me when I first started) but it doesn’t. Executeshellcommand will be your very best friend.

Not sure what you expect to accomplish with the ipconfig /all at the end when using it as a procedure. If you want to save it, change that part so that it forwards the output into a log file.

Ipconfig /all > c:\kworking\dnsflush.log

Now you have two options for how to read the log file.