Kaseya Community

KNM

• I'm very new to Kaseya, so forgive my ignorance =]. I joined a company that has been using Kaseya for a while now, but most of the previous Kaseya admins we had on staff have either left or been reassigned elsewhere. So, now I'm getting to fill the role. Anyway, I'm interested in utilizing KNM. From what I've read so far, it appears that you need to discover a network with the monitor network option checked. My question is, previously we had done discovery through Domain Watch. That being said, I just want to make sure I do not mess anything up by running the LAN Watch as well when everything has already been discovered via Domain. If anyone has any information or insight, I'd greatly appreciate it! Also, just for FYI below is our VSA patch level and version.

Patch Level

System Version

• Hi  

Domain Watch and LAN Watch are completely separate technologies.

One is leveraging a network scanning tool (NMAP) the other uses LDAP.

There could be some conflicts depending on what functionality is being leveraged in Domain Watch and what you plan on using in LAN Watch.

Off the top of my head, I would just be careful with trying to deploy agents using both functionalities to the same agent, it may cause them to jump around in different groups amongst other things.

• Nicolas,

First thanks for the response. Outside of KNM, are you aware of any other differences in functionality that LAN Watch would provide as opposed to Domain Watch?

•  

Not a problem, LAN Watch provides completely different functionality. 

It provides the ability to Scan, Monitor, and Deploy Agents across the network(s).

This comes into play with Network Monitor ( KNM) which requires networks created to monitor. Therefore, you MUST use LAN Watch by Network to leverage KNM.

Domain Watch will provide the ability to scan and manage Domain-based environments.