Kaseya Community

Agent procedure for Windows 10 pre-upgrade compatibility scan

• Hello,

I'm extremely new to Kaseya and this is my first time venturing down the Agent Procedures path. I probably should've picked an easier first task, but this is our need right now.

I'm trying to create an agent procedure that will run a Windows 10 prescan based on this TechNet article

https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/mniehaus/2015/08/23/windows-10-pre-upgrade-validation-using-setup-exe/

I have the setup.exe on a remote drive that is accessible to all users, and I've tested this command from a command prompt and it works as it should

> start /wait \\<remote server>\prog\PCSETU~1\ISO\WINDOW~1\setup.exe /Auto Upgrade /Quiet /NoReboot /DynamicUpdate Enable /Compat ScanOnly

I also added this line to get the ErrorLevel results added to a text file, although I could never get the carriage return working at the end.

> echo %errorlevel% > c:\Win10.txt

But I'd like to harness the power of Kaseya procedures to run the compatibility scan and then add the %ErrorLevel% results to the system info, or something inside of Kaseya so that I can run reports and filter by machines with certain %ErrorLevel% codes.

I set this procedure up in Kaseya and it works on my machine but it fails on regular users with Failed THEN in step 1 (Line 1) 

> executeFile("\\crnvault\prog\PCSETU~1\ISO\WINDOW~1\setup.exe", "/Auto Upgrade /Quiet /NoReboot /DynamicUpdate Enable /Compat ScanOnly", "Execute as User and Wait", "Windows 10 / Windows 8.1 / Windows 8 / Windows 7 / 2012 / 2008 / Vista / 2003 / XP / 2000 / NT4", "Halt on Fail")

I tried changing it to Execute as system and wait, but it still failed.

I'm assuming it's a security issue, but I'm still testing.

At that point, I'm stuck. Even if I can get the procedure to run, I'm at a loss when it comes to saving the results.

I considered using executeShellCommandtToVariable, but then I have no idea how to take that variable and write it to system info.