Kaseya Community

Patching and Wake-On-LAN

This question is not answered

Hello,

I am new to Kaseya and have recently installed the server. I have been browsing this forum for a while but am unable to find the correct answer, so I decided to post here.

1. I understand that the Patch process works using Microsoft Automatic Updates, so a connection to the Internet is important. If there is no connection to the Internet it uses the Microsoft cab file that the Kaseya server downloads, however that only contains the critical updates. So, does that mean that even while running a Patch Scan, the machine needs to be connected to the Internet to figure out what updates it needs? I have also tried disabling the Automatic Updates service and even after it installs the patches, the next Patch Scan still shows that its missing updates. Our servers don't talk to the Internet at all, I'm assuming most users have the same setup, so how are you all using the Patch process in Kaseya for servers? Do you install a Windows SUS server on the same machine as Kaseya is installed or use something else?

2. I have had no luck "Waking Up" machines using the Agent Status > hover mouse over an offline agent and then clicking Wake Machine. At first I thought I needed the "rw.exe" since that was missing from my vsaShared folder, but even after I copied that file, I have had no luck. So any Schedule I setup with the "Wake machine if offline" checked, doesn't work.

Any comments, suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Sau

All Replies
  • Hi Sau,

1. Actually it's not only the Critical updates, with the CAB based method you get a bit more than that.  This should be helpful: help.kaseya.com/.../index.htm

I've seen customers using SUS servers as a supplement in these types of scenarios where endpoints cannot/do not have internet access.

2.  When you state 'offline agent' is the machine(s) truly powered off?  WOL enabled on them as well?  

thanks!

Rob

• Hi Rob,