for example, i am rolling out a policy to assign nights for patching. per client request a few machines are to be handled manually from now. i've updated my view that is assigned to a policy to exclude a custom field and confirmed that the endpoint no longer shows in that view.
i reran audit collection, cleared overrides and reprocessed policies (in that order). i confirmed that the policy is no longer applied to the endpoints but the settings are still assigned to the machines.
do i have to manually remove them still? or should the removal of the policy pull off the associated settings?
In most cases the settings won't get removed. Either you can remove the settings manually or you can create and apply a new policy to configure those settings.