Kaseya Community

General Purpose SQL Queries - Post them here!

• Hi guys, i am VERY keen to hear what you think about this guide i wrote

http://www.scribd.com/doc/58509159

Download it as you please, make suggestions if you will, i have had a few people test the steps and they have found their way to making a custom excel dashboard.

Let me know how you go

[edited by: markdavidboyd at 5:28 PM (GMT -7) on 6-22-2011] removed link and readded a new link
  • OK, i am new to kaseya and i am also creating custom dashboards i used the code you gave in power Gadgets and get no data available. am i suppose to adjust the code you supplied or is it plug and play?

• Hi markdavidboyd,

Excellent document and it will definately assist a great deal!!! Any idea why I can't connect to my SQL 2008 R2 Kaseya db from my laptop running windows 7 and excel 2007??? I'm getting the following error: "SQL Server does not exist or access denied"

• This is good stuff.
    If you get the hang of the excel method its only a smallish leap to build it has a webpage using Visual Studio.  The principals are pretty much the same.  You can then have it running as a webpage that anyone can log into from anywhere.  We have ours on a 50" panel on the wall that runs all the time.  it refreshes with live data every 30secs. 

here is an example of what we are currently running.  It also gets data from ConnectWise.  But you get the idea.
    Why we have to do this stuff ourselves to get data from Kaseya is beyond me.

• Hi Thinus,

You have to be inside your network, that's a challenge we had, our vsa is in a data center, had to route between our office and the data center.
    I am using Excel 2010, it should be pretty much the same (I only just recently started using Excel 2010.

What account are you using to get into you SQL box?
    Make sure you have exposed the views publically from Kaseya.
    Go to your VSA > System > Database Access > Database views > set a password > try again