Kaseya Community

Kill/Restart a stopped service

• I'm new to Kaseya and have actually spent a bit of time on this website looking for the answer but I haven't found the answer I was looking for yet. We have a 64b Exchange 2007 that has an unresponsive agent. Can't touch it. Locally I've tried to restart the service, and it just errors out with a "did not respond". I've tried using taskill and pskill on the agentmon,exe figuring that would allow me to restart the service, but even with them returning a positive, the agentmon.exe task is still running (with the same PID, so it likely never did terminate)

I'm just trying to figure out (aside from rebooting) is there a way to bring all-Kaseya to a halt and bring it all back up again (when it's not exactly cooperating).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Legacy Forum Name: Kill/Restart a stopped service,
    Legacy Posted By Username: sshoots
  • Try taskkill /f /im servicename.exe (where servicename.exe is the name ofthe service you are trying to kill) to kill a service. I don't recall ever having a problem with using this to kill any service on Win2K3 and Win 2k8 boxes.

If this does not work, the only other thought I have is you are using an account that does not have permission.

Legacy Forum Name: How-To,
    Legacy Posted By Username: boudj
  • I've just had this problem too. Only way I could think was to remote into a client PC after I lost contact with the server from Kaseya and schedule a restart of the server overnight. Agentmon.exe just would not disappear despite taskkill saying it had stopped it.

Legacy Posted By Username: wodger