Kaseya Community

Install agent from Active directory via GPO

• Hi,
    Has anyone had any success installing the Agent to workstations from the active directory via a Domain level GPO. I am mostly looking to find out if anyone has created a .MSI package for agent install or advice on how to create one as we are looking at having to install agents on several hundred machines on a single Domain. I am fairly new to Kaseya so if anyone has a better way to do this please let me know.

Legacy Forum Name: Install agent from Active directory via GPO,
    Legacy Posted By Username: biggreg
  • An easier way would be to run the agent install in your logon scripts. In the Agent deployment option you can add the domain creds to the installer. Agemt > Deploy Agents > Create Package.

Alternatively you could put the file in a startup script in AD.

Regards,
    Chris

Legacy Forum Name: How-To,
    Legacy Posted By Username: chris@busy.co.nz
  • Chris,
    That would be good but the machines in question dont have users at them, they are used to perform specific tasks & are set up without monitor or keyboard. Is it possible for a logon script to run when the computer account logs on to the DC??

Legacy Posted By Username: biggreg
  • Hi,

The credentials in question should be the domain admin credentials, which will then be put in the exe file, so won't be hard to get out from a security point of view.

If the machines have group policies applied, run a batch file on startup via group policy. In this batch file all it needs to do is call the exe.

Lastly, if all the machines are on, look into the LAN Watch option under Agents - Deploy Agents. This pushes the agent to the machines remotely. You just have to make sure all machines are turned on. It may be easier to use startup script as this will cover future machines etc.

Regards,
    Chris

Legacy Posted By Username: chris@busy.co.nz