Kaseya Community

Wake on Lan

• Hello All,

I've been using Kaseya for about two months now. I've been asked to look into how to use Kaseya for starting up machines that have been turned off.

I've found a little information here and there about it, but nothing very solid. I've seen someone say "First you need to do a Lan Watch". Is there a document somewhere that describes step by step how to achieve what I'm looking to do? How does one "do a lan watch"? Is it done through Kaseya, or a 3rd party app?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

- Griz

Legacy Forum Name: Wake on Lan,
    Legacy Posted By Username: Matt.Conlon
  • Alright, nevermind. I found Lan Watch...

Legacy Forum Name: How-To,
  • Alright, so looks like this feature has to be enabled in the bios before anything will work, is that correct?

Is this the only way to use Kaseya to turn a computer on remotely?

• Yes it must be turned on in the BIOS, but I found a utility called Dell Client Configuration Utility that lets you change the BIOS settings through Windows. Although it was designed for Dell, I have successfully used it on a few HPs, Compaqs, and even a few Acers. I don't know that it will work on every brand and every model, but I would give it shot. It's alot easier and faster than sending someone onsite.

Legacy Posted By Username: ericpeterson
  • I'm still not having very much like with all of this... I found in the bios of my laptop the "wake up on lan" settings, but I never saw anything regarding Vpro... Is it something you can go download and install? From the way I see it spoken about on these forums, it seems to me like something that people just assume everyone has...

Am I off base here? I feel like I'm spinning my wheels here.

• I think Wikipedia summed it up nicely:

Intel vPro is a platform name that refers set of motherboard technology and features targeted for digital office/enterprise customers.