Kaseya Community

Money flying out the window..

• I'm more interested in a script which calculates weekly/monthly totals for all machines in a group, preferably something that could be put into an automated report.

Manually compiling all the time by viewing the agent logs would probably cost me more money than it would save me.

Legacy Forum Name: IT Procedures,
    Legacy Posted By Username: nevesis
  • I'm a tech and can still appreciate the money made/saved by my time being entered. I have some work ethic and take pride in my job and all my time is entered throughout the day, it's not negotiable. If the client isn't paying, where is my paycheck going to come from? The incentive idea sounds nice and all, but sometimes that can cause bad competition between people. I agree with the idea that they either account for their time or they get fired (of course you have to go through the write-up process, at least in California).

And time should be entered for everything, meeting time, training etc. That way you know how much billable time you are using for various things and whether it is worth the return.

In addition to all that, if you don't have a good time accounting ticketing system in place, how do you know your customers needs are addressed. Don't just think about the money you are pissing away by not billing, think about the money that is pissed away by pissed off customers that fall through the cracks and go to someone else to get taken care of...

Legacy Posted By Username: Leadfoot
  • Our tech team have experience and skills that would be painful to replace, our customers know and trust them and their work ethos is such that they regularly go above and beyond for our company.

I couldn't imagine just firing techs could be that easy an equation. I guess times are tough so it's an employer's world at the moment, but if you've got good techs I think it is worth trying to keep them.