Kaseya Community

Malware Scanning

• I started digging into learning the Sysinternal Suite of tools and came upon a lecture provided by Mark Russinovich. The hour long seminar was fantastic. Here is the link. http://www.microsoft.com/emea/spotlight/sessionh.aspx?videoid=359
    I am no programmer and gave up that pursuit years ago so I really don't know why this would be so I thought I would ask. Mark outlines a process for searching for spyware/malware and other suspicious content. As part of this process, he suggests searching for unsigned files. So, with this in mind, why are Kaseya's main executeables not signed?
    The other item I thought was hugely beneficial was the use of the sigcheck tool to try to find files that do not have signatures. Has anyone scripted this tool to do routine scans of their networks? Is anyone doing routine sweep of machines for rootkits?
    Please provide feedback so we can determine whether trying to script these tools has proven to be a useful process for anyone.
    Thanks in advance.
    TR

Legacy Forum Name: Malware Scanning,
    Legacy Posted By Username: trnetwork
  • Mark Russinovich is a great resource. And he openly says what I've been saying for a long long time anti-virus only is not the solution. It only detects what the anti-virus companies think it should. Therefore it's only part of the solution. True security should be a combination of non-admin, anti-virus software, and consistant patching procedures. I You have Kaseya to do all but the first item on the list. But it can help with automating the non-admin changes once you know what they need to be.