Kaseya Community

Billing from tickets: why isn't there a notes-level HOURS field?

• I find it odd that the developers designed the ticket database tables without a field to record # hours spent on each note we add to a given ticket. While it's nice that the parent record (ticket header, I suppose) has a field to record total time spent on the *ticket*, it seems like a big omission to not also be able to record time for each note...

Imagine invoice header and invoice detail data files - and that the detail file did not have a field to record an individual line item's cost (or qty)?

I guess the developers just never thought that MSPs might want to bill from the tickets we collect? Guess I'll submit this as an ER...

Or, maybe being a newbie, I missed something?

Legacy Forum Name: Billing from tickets: why isn't there a notes-level HOURS field?,
    Legacy Posted By Username: ReedMikel
  • I should also add that the Reports->Ticketing report doesn't seem like a useful report for billing. So my plan is to use a SQL reporting tool to create an activity report that lists all new *notes* added since last billing cycle. I'll attach this report to my QuickBooks invoice... Oh, and since each note does not have a corresponding #Hours field, I will have to use the approach of typing in something like "Hours=2.0" in any ticket's note that I want to bill for (and querying on that as a condition). Fortunately I have no employees, so I am the only one entering tickets - so I'll be religious about entering it Smile

I'm sure some will suggest a 3rd party add-on that integrates with Kaseya, but as a small MSP, I'm already paying out more than I care to for these MSP tools... Sometimes I feel like I'm buying a new car, where there are dozens of add-ons to choose from Smile

Legacy Forum Name: General Discussion,
  • Hmmm, just how are all my fellow Kaseyans doing their billings?

Kaseya - could you comment on why there is no field for hours at the note level?