Kaseya Community

Software Management/MS Patching: Brought Company To Knees - Need Help

• Hey all, I'm looking for some help with the newer Software Management module for MS patching.  

First, I'm not a MSP... I'm a Sys Admin for a corporation.  I have a little over 800 workstations in Kaseya and I was wanting to setup simple plan to scan all workstations for MS important/critical patches and then patch the machines up on Thursday and Fridays.  

I setup the scan/analysis profile to scan every 2 days.  
    The deployment profile was set to deploy patches at 10am on Thursdays and Fridays via the Kaseya Update method

Today at 10am, our network was brought to its knees with all our sites coming back to the Kaseya server getting patches.  We waited a couple hours and it was getting worse, so we eventually shutdown our Kaseya server to get our network performance back so our company could operate.  

We currently have Kaseya shutdown and won't bring it back up until this evening and hope things will workout over the weekend.  

I thought with the new system, not all computers would try to get their patches at the same time.  I noticed there is no "distribution window" option available like there was in the old patching which would prevent all agents trying to get updates all at the same time.  

Do I have any options here?  

Ideally it would be great to have control over patches (being able to approve, deny, force reboot reminders, etc) but have the computers get the updates from the internet, not the Kaseya server. ... and not all at the same time.   Is that possible?  

• How do you currently set up your scan and deployment profiles? Are they set up according to machine groups or some other structure?

• You should be a set a schedule in place to minimize network impact. again this is based on machine groups

• Hey Doug,