Kaseya Community

Data Backup and Desktop Migration

This question is not answered

When i did the 6.3 upgrade, i seem to remember trying to deselect data backup and Desktop Management, but was told that they were required for the 6.3 install. I don't use them at this time and even though i am not licensed for them the Desktop management module, It still runs scripts on my agents which I don't need. 

I would like to remove this module if it is possible. So my question is:

Is it safe to uninstall this module from the VSA server or is it essential to the 6.3 install?

All Replies
  • Hi Matt,

    Depending on what product you are on The Desktop Management module is now a part of the Kaseya core for some products (Essentals for example) and as such cannot be "removed", other than to switch it off from all Roles so that no one uses it. The Desktop Management module includes vPro management and Wake On Lan capabilities the we felt everyone could benefit from.

    Desktop Management is also the new home for the previous KDPM products: Desktop Policy Management and Desktop Migration. Those functions will only be there if you are licensed for them.

    None of these products run any 'scripts' on your machines. What you may be seeing is a part of the default Audit process which picks up some desktop settings to populate the Kaseya DB for various reports. If you can post up a screen shot of the Agent Procedure you are referring to I can provide more detail.

  • Ray Barber

    Hi Matt,

    Depending on what product you are on The Desktop Management module is now a part of the Kaseya core for some products (Essentals for example) and as such cannot be "removed", other than to switch it off from all Roles so that no one uses it. The Desktop Management module includes vPro management and Wake On Lan capabilities the we felt everyone could benefit from.

    Desktop Management is also the new home for the previous KDPM products: Desktop Policy Management and Desktop Migration. Those functions will only be there if you are licensed for them.

    None of these products run any 'scripts' on your machines. What you may be seeing is a part of the default Audit process which picks up some desktop settings to populate the Kaseya DB for various reports. If you can post up a screen shot of the Agent Procedure you are referring to I can provide more detail.

    I did a demo of the KDPM in 6.2 and we did not go with it. It says that i have a license, but it expired. The scripts/procedures run on my agents are highlighted in this screenshot below. I took this from a test machine that only got some basic procedures upon install. I never assigned anything KDPM to the machine, but it still runs these audits 4 times a day on a lot of my workstations. 

  • Hi Matt,

    Thanks for the screenshot that clears it up.

    You will notice that the "KDPM Periodic Audit" is all happening around the same time as the Latest Audit. This activity is not being driven by the KDPM product, but by the Audit, it just happens to be called KDPM because the technology used to obtain that info for the Audit originally came from that module. If you cancel the Audit the KDPM Audit will stop too.

    The KDPM Audit has a tiny overhead and will not effect the machines in any way, so from a purely technical stand point, there is no need to remove it anyway.

    I notice that you are running an Audit every day. What I would say, is that unless you are in the middle of some audit process for the business or building specific reports, it's usually enough to run the Audit once a week, as most of the information that is in the Audit does not change often.

    But back to your original question, how do you remove Desktop Management? You can't, it's a part of the product, just the same as Audit or Patch or Reporting. But even if you could that would not remove the KDPM Audit you are seeing.

    Hope this clarifies.